Village President and Trustees

The Village of Bull Valley Board of Trustees is comprised of a President and six Trustees. The President is elected for a four year term. Trustees are elected for four years terms with three elected in an election offset by two years from the election of the other three.

The Board meets the fourth Monday of each month at 10:00 a.m. unless that falls on a holiday and then the meeting is moved to Tuesday. Village residents are invited to attend board meetings and encouraged to speak to the board about questions and concerns. No prior notice is required to address the board. Special meetings of the Board are held as needed and are posted at Village Hall 48 hours in advance of the meeting.

The Village Board has oversight of the Village’s business, reviews actions of all committees, sets policy and enacts ordinances and resolutions to govern that policy. In addition the board of Trustees in our Village is a hands-on working board. Each Trustee has an area of responsibility to monitor and make recommendations to the full board.

The current Board is: 

Emily Berendt, President
Maggie Bailey, Parks Liaison
Ed Ellinghausen, Roads Liaison
Kurt Kleinschmidt, Finance Liaison
Pete Bruhn, Safety and Police Liaison
Peg O’Brien, Planning and Zoning Commission Liaison
Matt Kantecki, Annexations and Community Development Liaison

The Village’s legal council is Michael J. Smoron of Zukowski, Rogers, Flood and McArdle in Crystal Lake, Illinois.

The Board approves the hiring of all employees within the Village government.

To contact one of the Trustees, please call (815)459-4833 or click the Trustee’s email address above.